HOW TO EARN A BLACK BELT AND ACHIEVE OTHER GOALS

I began studying Tae Kwondo to improve my health. I’m extremely clumsy, often can’t differentiate left from right, and frequently walk into things. My health didn’t improve as desired, but once I started, I enjoyed a sport in which I’d previously had no interest. I could pass the qualifying tests, just barely. Sometimes I’d become discouraged by my lack of grace and skill, but I made a commitment to myself to show up two to three times a week as required and not worry about the outcome. I turned over the responsibility for the outcome to my beloved teacher, Master Cho, an eighth-level black belt from Korea. Eventually I passed the two-day test for a black belt as well as five of the subsequent tests that preceded a second-level black belt. I stopped only when my health declined severely and strenuous exercise became impossible.

karate-2634848_960_720

Now when I face a major challenge, I remember this experience. I show up, do my best, and then let go. It’s been a surprisingly effective strategy for almost three decades.

 

Leave a comment