SEEING IN THE RAIN—AGAIN

rain-791893_960_720Getting older is hard. Parts of my body that previously worked well are now creaky and less robust. At fifty-seven, I keenly feel the effects of aging. But occasionally my body improves. Being caught in the rain used to be wholly unpleasant, mostly because raindrops landed on my glasses, obscuring my vision. This occurred even when it sprinkled. But since I had cataract and PRK surgeries, I have perfect vision except for reading, and I no longer wear glasses outdoors. The rain comes, I might get wet, but I can see clearly. It’s a big change and a huge relief. This change reminds me that while I can’t avoid the effects of aging, positive physical changes may also occur, creating balance. When managing poor health, being mindful of balance is a key coping

Leave a Reply

