AIM HIGH

success-1148046__180I work with enlisted service men and women who sometimes discuss their future plans with me. Occasionally they confide in me about their hopes and dreams for after they leave active duty. When they ask my advice, I tell them, aim high. Apply to schools that are longshots and for jobs that you’re marginally qualified for. Assume that you’re attractive enough in all ways to be sought out by the best-looking person at a party. I have a history that includes success with all of these examples. Even when I’ve been acutely ill, I’ve aimed high and been pleased with my results. So I tell them, Never underestimate yourself, and you may be pleasantly surprised.

Leave a Reply

