MY NEW BEST FRIEND

My crockpot is my friend. It doesn’t have a name, or even much of a personality, but it’s my friend anyway. Although I’ve cooked professionally for people in their homes, I don’t like to cook. Most days after work I’m too wiped out to even try, so I cook on the weekends and eat a lot of high-end frozen food. However, every once in a while I decide to expand my repertory, so in 2010 I bought a crockpot. And I fell in love.

I’ve only created two jokes in my life. Here’s the first. I told my oldest friend, a man, that I’d fallen in love with the crockpot. He replied, Isn’t it the wrong shape? Shouldn’t it be oblong, not round? I snapped back, You’re such a guy. It’s not about the shape; it’s about how it makes me feel.

All joking aside, even on the weekends, I’m sometimes so tired I can only handle crockpot cooking. I can’t even manage cooking a pot of rice on the stove to go with my crockpot dish. I recently learned how to cook rice in a main dish in the crockpot. This was a big leap forward for me. I love my crockpot because it makes my life easier. I can cook once on the weekends, clean one dish, and have food for the week. My crockpot makes me feel self-sufficient and empowered. Who wouldn’t love that!

images_3

THE SICK LADY’S CHICKEN MASALA FOR THE CROCKPOT:

Ingredients:

1 bag of Trader Joe’s boneless chicken thighs (No need to defrost.)

1 chopped sweet onion. (Or 1-2 cups of pre-chopped onion.)

1 jar of Trader Joe’s Masala Sauce. (After you empty the jar into your crockpot, add about 2 tablespoons of water to the jar, swish it around to get the last of the sauce out, and dump in the pot.)

Directions:

Cook for 12 hours on low heat.

About 8 hours into the process, add:

2 cups of Trader Joe’s chicken stock

1 cup Trader Joe’s uncooked black rice.

If you love your colon, add some vegetables on the side, either cooked or raw.

Leave a Reply

